Close a document by tapping the "X" on the document's tab. This will not delete the document.
Close a document by tapping the "x" on the tab next to the document's name.
Once closed, the document will either be in the storage location you opened it from in iAnnotate or the default storage location if the document was imported into the app.
If the document is not saved you will receive a pop-up window letting you know the document is not saved and therefore cannot be closed. To save the document, tap on the tab with the document's name revealing a drop down menu. You have the option to save from this menu.